8k24 Poptop

Skew-whiff MD gets some pop out of his system on 8K NZ, 22/01/17… All these tunes were smash hits, all top ten, most No. 1… as a kid my ears were informed by radio, we had a radio/cassette which sat on the kitchen windowsill and I’d rush to hit record whenever something came on that sounded interesting. Consequently I had a whole bunch of tapes full of songs wit no beginnings.
Radio was pretty much okay then I think, many popular tunes seemed cool… then punk hit and (some) radio got even better… the ZM allnighter, Radio U. I got caught up in the post punk revolution and many of those pop tunes were now “uncool”.. but I still get a hankering for the odd pop smash hit, embarrassing I know, but these days I’m happy to “like what I like” … So bear with me while I have a wee pop wallow and feel free to sing along, no-one’s watching…

10cc – I’m Not In Love
5th Dimension – Aquarius/Let the Sunshine In
Amen Corner – (If Paradise Is) Half As Nice
T Rex – Telegram Sam
Jimi Hendrix – Hey Joe
Desmond Dekker – Israelites
Bob & Marcia – To Be Young Gifted and Black
George Harrison – My Sweet Lord
Ian Dury – Hit Me With Your Rhythm Stick
Marvin Gaye – Got To Give It Up
Four Tops – I Can’t Help Myself (Sugar Pie Honey Bunch)
Aretha Franklin – Respect
Spencer Davis Group – Keep On Running
Beatles – Eleanor Rigby
Mott The Hoople – All The Young Dudes
John Lennon – Instant Karma
Rolling Stones – We Love You
Animals – House Of The Rising Sun
The Sweet – Ballroom Blitz
Promises – Baby It’s You
Stealers Wheel – Stuck In The Middle With You
Shocking Blue – Venus
Lulu – Boat That I Row
Detroit Spinners – The Rubber Band Man
Blondie – Denis
Sex Pistols – God Save The Queen
Tubeway Army – Are “Friends” Electric
Kinks – Tired Of Waiting For You

Leave a Reply

